2 weeks in..Time for Change

So its been almost 2 weeks since we arrived, which means it’s nearly time for my family to go home, their holiday is over! Since I have been spending my time with them these past two weeks, Its been a bit of a holiday period for me too. We have been eating alot of good food..specifically alot of momos, been shopping, and seen the “sights” that kolkata has to offer. Owen and I have been going along to school every day, and loving it, and the parents have visited a few times too. On Friday, since it was their last day they gave each of the children the gift of their very own colouring book, so that led to the chaos which ensues every time the crayons are brought out! Thanks Mum and Dad!

Last Thursday was our visit to the GNCEM hostels, which I was really looking forward to. We went along with a BMS team of bible college students. It was nice to tag along with them, because they were getting the full tour of GNCEM projects, so we got to see all the different schools, and for me I could see how much progress there has been over the past year..whole new buildings have popped up. I had been looking forward to visiting the hostels because I knew some of the children I taught at Hatibagan school are now living there. I had some photos printed for them of my team with the kids when we visited the hostels last year, which caused a lot of excitment! They may not have ever had a picture of themselves before, so I am sure those photos will take pride of place. One of the photos I had been using as my facebook profile picture for months so I figured it would only be fair to let the other people in the photo have a copy!

My family leave in the early hours of Sunday morning, so that’s when my solo adventure begins! But staying in the BMS Guesthouse in central Kolkata is getting a bit too much like a comfort zone, so it’s time to move! Subir and Eunok Roy, who are the amazing people who run GNCEM, are taking me under their wings and have invited me to stay in an apartment they own, about an hour away from central Kolkata. It is much nearer one of their big schools where they would like me to teach nursery, and just down the road from the lovely babycare centre they run. Staying there will allow me to get much more involved in working for them and getting more immersed in indian life was one of my main aims for my return here. It will mean a move away from the WiFi at BMS though, but no one’s really out of their comfort zone if they still have WiFi, are they?

So at some point this week I will making the move out there. It’s not just Subir and Eunok I have to look after me though, Anu here at the guesthouse has promised that her door is always open to me, and that I can stay with her whenever I need too. So in commiting to be out here for 6 weeks on my own, I have actually found I’m not on my own at all!

Pray for me, please! And thank God for what he has already provided for me.

Rebecca xxx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bruce
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 13:16:28

    Challenging 6 weeks coming up but I know you will thrive there. You are in our thoughts and prayers

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 20:59:59

    Wonderful to read your news, Rebecca and see your photos. Praying for your adventure over the next 6 weeks! Glad you have found support and open doors and God will not let you down (who needs WiFi anyway?!). May He bless you richly and use your gifts teaching at the nursery. Glad Mum, Dad and Owen’s holiday has gone so well. Love Jennifer xx

    Reply

Leave a comment